All posts by Smooth Waves Music

Smooth Waves Music is a hip-hop blog that specializes in giving a voice to underground artists from across the US and beyond. The site was founded by Jesse Wiles and Erik Lindberg in early 2014. Current writers for the site are Jesse, Erik and Asa.

[NEW] Earthgang releases brand new single “Mary”


Earthgang is still one word.

Atlanta’s most underrated duo is back today with a brand new single titled “Mary.” The song, which features production from Childish Major, showcases Doctor Dot and Johnny Venus’ ability to channel both their inner Atlanta sound and their own original approach to rapping. Check out “Mary” below and keep an eye out for a project from the duo to be releasing sometime later this month.

Written by Jesse Wiles

Check out Lou The Human&’s latest track “Slim Buddha”


Lou The Human is a rapper’s rapper.

From Staten Island, Lou The Human shares the grungy aesthetic of South Florida’s rap scene, or the early days of Odd Future, but his rapping takes on a different vibe. For “Slim Buddha” he spits a series of relentless bars that Pigeons and Planes compared to those of Eminem. While that might be a lofty comparison (more of a mixture of Mac Miller and Wiki), he’s definitely talented, is a great story teller,  displays extensive versatility on the mic and is subtly more vulgar than any rapper we’ve heard in awhile. Check out his other two songs, “Macklemore” and “Brink” below “Slim Buddha.”

Written by Jesse Wiles

2 Chainz drops off new single with Travis Scott “4 AM,” reveals tracklist for ‘Pretty Girls Like Trap Music’


After teasing fans with snippets of the Travis Scott assisted “4 AM” the final version is here. Listen below as 2 Chainz delivers some fast paced bars with Travis Scott assisting with his signature pitched up flow. 2 Chainz finally revealed the track listing for his upcoming Pretty Girls Like Trap Music album. The album will feature Drake, Gucci Mane, Quavo, Migos, Pharrell and many, many more of the hottest artists out at the moment. The album is shaping up to be a classic Tity Boi production, check out “4 AM” below to get a taste of what’s in store.

1. “Saturday Night”
2. “Riverdale Rd”
3. “Good Drank” f/ Gucci Mane and Quavo
4. “4 AM” f/ Travis Scott
5. “Door Swangin”
6. “Realize” f/ Nicki Minaj
7. “Poor Fool” f/ Swae Lee
8. “Big Amount” f/ Drake
9. “It’s a Vibe” f/ Ty Dolla $ign, Trey Songz, and Jhené Aiko
10. “Rolls Royce Bitch”
11. “Sleep When U Die”
12. “Trap Check”
13. Blue Cheese f/ Migos
14. “OG Kush Diet”
15. “Bailan” f/ Pharrell
16. “Burglar Bars” f/ Monica

Written by Jesse Wiles

Brockhampton just dropped off the most interesting music video of 2017 called “Star”


Pop culture references meets The Smurfs meets Brockhampton.

The latest effort from Brockhampton comes in the form of “Star.” Dom McLennon, Ameer Vann and Kevin Abstract all spit verses dripping in pop culture references while driving around in a golf cart. The trio is painted blue, Ameer Vann delivers half of his verse with his tin foil wrapped head in an open oven and he can be seen at times throughout the video wearing a faux fat suit of sorts. The video is interesting to say the least, it’s also a perfect introduction to the world of Brockhampton, created by Kevin Abstract. The “Star” portion of the video ends abruptly once Abstract gets Orange Juice thrown into his face following a reference to sharing last names with OJ Simpson. A snippet of an unreleased track follows “Star.” The similarly lo-fi effort sounds and looks a lot like something The Internet  would put out. Stay tuned for the track to release before the group’s collaborative mixtape Saturation comes out later this month.

Written by Jesse Wiles

XXXtentacion switches gears with quiet new acoustic track “garette’s REVENGE”

Following XXXtentacion since his release from prison has been a wild ride, from beefing with Drake, his takeover of Miami’s Rolling Loud festival and the sporadic releases of new music it’s been a wild ride. However, he seems to have found his footing with his latest release, the pleasantly somber “garette’s REVENGE.” The song is an acoustic affair with no rapping, instead XXXtentacion sings a quiet melody about self forgiveness. Check it out below and give his collab with Diplo a listen below that.

Written by Jesse Wiles