Smooth Waves Mix Volume 2!!

A mix of new music we are listening to. Enjoy!

1. SAVEMONEY (Joey Purp & Kami de Chukwu)- “Still Alive”
2. HBK Gang- “Go Crazy”
3.The Cool Kids- “Computer School”
4. King Krule- “Easy Easy” (20sly Remix)
5. Riff Raff- “How To Be A Man”
6. Jon Waltz- “Magic City”
7. SchoolBoy Q- “Break the Bank”
8. Inside Our Universe- “Take a Walk”
9. Drake- “We Made It (Freestyle)” feat. Soulja Boy
10. Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros- “Home” (Party Supplies Remix)


Schoolboy Q- “Break the Bank” and “Oxymoron” Artwork

Last night, Schoolboy Q revealed both covers for his upcoming album “Oxymoron” as well as releasing a new song titled “Break the Bank”. We can’t begin to explain our excitement, here at Smoothwaves, surrounding this album! “Oxymoron” releases on February 25th, with preorders available right now on iTunes. Check out the artwork and “Break the Bank” below.


Pt. 1 of Who We’re Looking Forward to in 2014.

Starting with Joey Bada$$, his 2012 mixtape 1999 more or less pronounced the then 17-year-old, king of New York hip-hop. Since then he’s released a few other mixtapes, including Summer Knights, that have been met with good reviews. B4 Da $$ will be his first official retail album and has garnered a lot of attention and hype. 2014 will be a big year for Joey BadA$$ and his Pro Era crew.

One of the projects I’m looking forward to the most is Schoolboy Q’s ‘Oxymoron.’ With fellow TDE member Kendrick Lamar more or less dominating all of hip-hop and rap in 2012 and ’13 with good kid mAAd city and his verse on Big Sean’s Control, Schoolboy is about to come through with some heat. He has said that his album needs to be “as good or better” than k dots. Being as good as GKMC would be an impressive feat, either way it will definitely be one of the top albums of 2014.

The sky is the limit for Skizzy Mars and Jon Waltz. Both are independent young rappers, Skizzy dropped his first album last year, Phases, and Jon Waltz finished the year with a string of singles that were very impressive, LNIA, FNIA & Bang. Both rappers have stated on Twitter that 2014 will be their year. Let’s hope that this is true and they grace our ears with their presence soon.

Smooth Waves Mix Volume 1!!!!!

Our first weekly mix of stuff we are listening to.

  • Tracklist;
  • 1. Suddenly- A$AP Rocky
  • 2. Type of Way- Rich Homie Quan
  • 3. Feds Watching- 2 Chainz feat. Pharrell
  • 4. Through the Eyes of a G- Action Bronson feat. Ab-Soul
  • 5.Telegraph Ave (“Oakland by Lloyd”)- Childish Gambino
  • 6. Step Remix- Vampire Weekend feat. Danny Brown, Heems and Despot
  • 7. Trophies- Drake
  • 8. Bring Da Ruckus- Wu-Tang Clan